A Poem for ME..

Standard

I was clearing my yahoo email inbox today. And I found something about which I had totally forgotten ( Okay, I’m lying. Never forgot about this particular thingy). This is a POEM written for me by someone from my past. This is something which sort of blew my mind when I read it for the first time. I felt on top of the world and couldn’t believe that someone could write such lovely niceties for someone like me. I had saved it in th “Drafts” as I treasured it.
But I see no point in holding on any longer. Thus, I feel no hesitation in sharing it with the world. These words mean nothing to me now as I have realised these are nothing but hollow words! Words which have been arranged to form a meaningful poetry but have no real meaning.. Words meant only to impress.. Words which came NOT from the core of the poet’s heart. Well, if this is what I think about this poem, then why don’t I just delete it and move on? End the case? Because,  no matter how hollow and meaningless it is. No matter how naive it is (and kind of funny in some some parts), it is something which was once very close to my heart. It is something which made me smile and feel extremely special once! 

I was having a little guilt feeling about sharing this, but it vanished when I reasoned with myself and thought – he probably must be writing such ( much better ones and not childish like this one) poems for someone else right now..

So here it is:
(Written in 2010)

“Days are stressful,taxing and hard,
and all my happy thoughts,
that I usually discard,
come to the fore,
at the onset of anything bore,
which distract and kill,
but provide a lot of thrill,
such a thrill has been you,
and people like this are really few,
every moment with you seems new,
like the beautiful sunrise,
and the morning dew.!

Whenever I access my facebook wall,
It’s you, to whom my mind gives a call,
problems,though many at times seem tall,
but when I feel your presence, they become really small.
Even thinking of you, brings a smile,
and this smile comes every while,
smooth and shiny,
like a bathroom tile.!
like when you see picturesque mountains,
stretching longer than a mile.

Every text i forward,
is always sent to you,
a reply is always anticipated,
which I always get, so I feel very obliged to you!

I christened you doe,
for your beautiful eyes,
and whatever you do, they always look nice!
Your long and dark hair,
always invite a stare,
your beauty is distinct,
your mind is wise,
wit,intelligence and inner strength,
also follow you like spies,
Your smile sets you apart,
especially when your lips part!.
I then get a glimpse of your pearly white,
which are equally attractive and  very bright.

Your voice shows smartness,
the inner you,
pretty hard for me then,
to not think of you.

The moments we shared,
though we never met,
have always been special,
and some even included a bet!

I remember each moment,
though I forgot almost every other thing,
each memory about you is fresh with me,
even if it had no zing.,
a plain greeting is equally remembered,
like some fan club of you,
to which I’ve been membered .

You in the blank saree,
made a stunning combination,
which has been stuck,
in my mind’s documentation,
If beauty is synonymous with looking good,
then you are a fairy,
who even eats food.

I feel very pained when I face the reality,
that you don’t wanna be mine,
and then I feel the gravity.
My heart doesn’t agree that  this can’t happen,
and thinks about you,
whenever it feels dampned,
the ink will run out,
your eyes may tire,
but my thoughts won’t stop,
as you are the only one I heartily admire.

Those minutes are few,
when I amn’t thinking of you,
cause true love is rare,
and does need a lot of care,
it never has any fare,
but all it mostly evokes, is a surprised stare.

I must end now,
cause I don’t wanna bore,
same silly things again,
which I think you do abhor,
I’ll never give up,
neither will I move on,
cause I remember you each moment,
from dusk till dawn…..”

I haven’t edited anything, just copy-pasted the entire thing here. Call me crazy but I don’t enjoy poems. Never have. Can’t figure out why people like poetry??

6 responses »

  1. Poetry can be an acquired taste or simply distasteful in general. It depends on how much time you want to put into it. If you seek to acquire the taste, if it is worth your time, then it takes reading many different forms of poetry.

    Most modern poetry is self indulgence. Most classical poetry is about words and form. There are some today you can truly paint with words and those are the ones to look for. I am a poet and I don’t like most poetry, even my own. It’s just something I use to release emotions. In my life I have probably written 10s of thousands of poems and most I have simply thrown or given away. Once expressed, I have no need for them.

    Some truly enjoy writing poetry and use it to paint images of the moment or experiences in life. Others like to use poetry to impress women and write terrible love poems which are more self indulgent than they are a gift to the person they are giving them.

    It’s not strange to not like poetry. Most people don’t like poetry.

Leave a Reply

