Grown Up.

Standard

“Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.” 
                                                             ― Anne Frank

The feeling of “being grown up” can be amazing and liberating. But at times the same can be intimidating.

I am feeling the load of being a grown up these days. It’s not as easy as I used to think.

It was my decision for pursuing my Masters from abroad, and there’s no looking back now. I know at the end of the day, I have to put in efforts at each step of the whole process. There are times when I feel like giving up and feel I just cannot do this without help. From preparing for GRE and TOEFL exams, researching about a million things all day on the internet, talking to people for advice, sending emails to university professors,preparing the Letters of Recommendation and Statement of Purpose, to short-listing universities and applying; I’ve had to deal with tons of anxiety and apprehension. Though I’ve reached far from where I started (Thinking about studying in the U.S in 2012), there are times I feel too burdened with all the responsibilities. I feel too alone!

How is one supposed to handle SO much alone? Keeping track of all the data, managing it,organizing etc..  I don’t think by requiring a little help I’m being irrational. And the worst part is, I just can’t find help!

Working your a** off , without any help/guidance, is more difficult when your own parents have doubts about you. Instead of providing constant unrelenting motivation and support, they tell you “You still have time to change your decision” , “Are sure you want to do this? It’s not easy..We have doubts”, “How are you going to survive there?” blah blah . I mean, come on!! I am already so damn nervous about things and have taken this decision with a lot of courage. I need your faith in me! (PLEASE). I need you to trust me and support me.

How do people do it? I can’t stop wondering! So many Indians have gone to the U.S for further studies. How did they do it? I feel like taking guidance from some experienced person at each and every stage of the application process. Why do they have such an excruciatingly complex procedure for admission??

Anyway… I am not loosing my positive-thinking-approach to life. I will keep daring to dream big!

Fingers crossed 🙂

               “Every single second is an opportunity to change your life, because in any moment you can change                                                                                               the way you feel.”

P.S- If you are also an International applicant who’s applying to grad school in the U.S like me, Please contact me. Please. 🙂 😛

Leave a Reply

